Purple Baby Owl Quilt

This was a quilt I finished up at the end of the summer which was a commissioned gift that one of my mom’s friends ordered for who sister (who recently moved back from Australia). She just told me that she really loves purple, owls, and a blend of modern and traditional styles.

I ended up using a dark purple fabric to outline every other middle square, and then use a blend of other fabrics to create the checkerboard look.

Owl Patchwork

Owl Patchwork

It was a pretty basic design, just 4″ squares and a 3″ border if I remember correctly. I think the mix of pink, purple, aqua, and green looks cheerful and fun and I have since used the extra scraps to make another quilt top, which I am in the process of finishing.

Fabric Closeup

Fabric Closeup

I used an Anna Maria Horner light purple stripe for the binding, and for the back I used two fabrics, one that wasnt really my style but the girl who ordered it thought it was cute (and it was on sale), and another more cheerful and modern one with an animal theme.

Quilt back

Quilt back

I did simple straight-line quilting, following the seam lines down on either side and then also going around the inside square. It’s a blurry picture, but you get the idea!

After making so many bigger quilts this summer it was kind of nice to have a quick project like this one. I hope that little baby Viviane is enjoying her quilt!

 

 

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Triangle Owl Quilt | Unkindnessofraisins- Blog

Leave a Reply

